Blog Tour | Lay Me To Rest #BookReview

I’m very pleased to be reviewing Lay Me To Rest as part of the blog tour, and to be sharing today with Ali The Dragon Slayer and Donna’s Book Blog. Before we get to my thoughts here is what the book is about.

Lay-Me-to-Rest

Some secrets never stay buried for long…

Devastated by the death of her husband, Annie Philips is shocked to discover she is pregnant with his unborn child. Hoping for a fresh start, she travels to a remote stone cottage in Anglesey, amidst the white-capped mountains of North Wales.

She settles in quickly, helped by her mysterious new neighbour, Peter. But everything changes when Annie discovers a small wooden box, inlaid with brass and mother-of-pearl. A box she was never supposed to find…

Annie soon realises that she isn’t alone in the cottage. And now she’s trapped. Can she escape the nightmare that she has awoken, or will the dark forces surrounding the house claim her life – and that of her baby?

A gripping thriller from E. A. Clark, perfect for fans of Kerri Wilkinson, Sarah Wray and Stella Duffy. You won’t be able to put it down!

 

Amazon | Goodreads

divider

As I’m sure I have mentioned before something I enjoy about blog tours is that I’ve usually forgotten exactly what a book is about in time between signing up and getting round to reading it. This worked really well in this case because there is a bit of a paranormal element in this book and at first, I was a little skeptical but the more I got into the book, that all melted away and I found myself really enjoying it.

The setting was wonderful, I’ve never actually been to Wales but I really want to go now, the author easily sets the most beautiful and idyllic scene, well before things start to get a bit spooky, and I found myself invested in it straight away.

The writing was quite formal at points, not in a way that made it difficult to understand as it flowed well but I thought it sometimes affected the tone of the story.

I liked Annie immensely, she seemed so genuine and even though she was going through a very tough time she was still she was able to own up to her mistakes and be willing help others. All the characters were so nice which makes the goings on even more shocking because you don’t really want to believe it.

The only thing I really wasn’t keen on was the ending, it is a perfect gateway to another book (which I will definitely be reading when it comes about) but it felt like such a big departure from the tone of the rest of the book that it felt a little clunky.

This for me was an unexpected read but I really enjoyed it and I am looking forward to seeing what Annie has to deal with next.

four

divider2

If you want to follow along with the rest of the tour or see any of the previous slots then be sure to check them out below.

Lay-Me-To-Rest-Tour-Schedule


E.A. Clark lives in the Midlands with her husband and son, plus a rather temperamental cat, a rabbit and a chinchilla. She has three (now grown-up) children and five grandchildren. She is particularly partial to Italian food, decent red wine (or any coloured wine come to that …) and cake – and has been known to over-indulge in each on occasions.

She has a penchant for visiting old graveyards and speculating on the demise of those entombed beneath. Whilst she has written short stories and poetry for many years, a lifelong fascination with all things paranormal has culminated in her first novel for adults, Lay Me to Rest. The setting is inspired by her love of Wales, owing to her father’s Celtic roots.

Twitter | Facebook

logo

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Lay Me To Rest #BookReview

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s