Book Review | Silenced For Good #BlogTour @rararesources

Another crime book for me this week and hopefully one to perk up your Wednesday.

about the book

SILENCED FOR GOOD

Detective Hanlon is addicted to violence. She likes the rush, the danger, the losing control…

When Hanlon is suspended from the force for assaulting a suspect, she escapes to the remote Scottish island of Jura, home to the mysterious Corryvreckan whirlpool.

But wherever Hanlon goes, violence is sure to follow.

As soon as she checks into The Mackinnon Arms, Hanlon senses something isn’t quite right about the staff at her home for the week.

Sure enough, within days of arriving, the body of a member of staff is found floating in the sea. While police believe she was claimed by the local whirlpool, Hanlon isn’t so sure.

As she pieces together the evidence, dark secrets begin to unravel. Can Hanlon work out what is going on before another floating body is found…?

The start of a gripping new crime series, perfect for fans of Angela Marsons, Robert Bryndza and Lisa Regan.

 

Amazon | Goodreads

my thoughts

I didn’t realise until I was putting this post together that there are other books from this author that feature DI Hanlon, luckily though you definitely don’t need to have read them to get stuck into this one, it can stand on its own and be well understood.

With the opening chapter you really get a feel for Hanlon, on the outs with the service and facing an investigation for using excessive force, I knew that she maybe wasn’t going to be the most likeable character but could be very compelling given the right storyline. Her character attributes, aggressive tendencies and a willingness to skirt the law, I would say are generally seen more in male characters within this genre so it was quite refreshing to get that angle and I did actually come to appreciate her frank nature and determination.

On the whole the story was engaging, I have to say I was drawn to it because of its setting, rural Scotland has so many qualities that when used properly can only enhance the suspense in a book, and it did lend itself here. I did find on a few occasions reading this book that there was a lot of extra information that I didn’t really feel was needed, I only mention it because at these points the pace started to suffer and I did find myself wanting to flick ahead to the next relevant part.

However, the storyline kept my interest I was eager to find out what was going on and who was behind it. There was a very eclectic cast of characters and most of them were a bit shady, I will admit to having a few of my suspicions turn out to be correct but there were parts that I would definitely have not predicted, it certainly made for some entertaining reading as Hanlon has to decide who on the island she can trust.

3

about the author

Alex Coombs studied Arabic at Oxford and Edinburgh Universities and went on to work in adult education and then retrained to be a chef. He has written four well reviewed crime novels in the DI Hanlon series.  His fifth will be published by Boldwood in April 2020.

Website | Facebook | Twitter

logo

book mad and generally creative

2 thoughts on “Book Review | Silenced For Good #BlogTour @rararesources

  1. Great review. Like you I didn’t realise that there were previous books in this series already released. I thought this was a debut when I read it. I’ll be going back to read the first few books when I get a chance.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s