Blog Tour | Cocktails and Dreams #GuestPost #review #giveaway

Last week I did the Cocktails and Dreams Tag and this week I have for you a guest post and my thoughts on the book, first of all though here is what it’s about.

Book Cover

A heart-warming novel with characters you’ll love, don’t miss this first in a new series for romance, laugh-out-loud comedy and a feel-good ending. Perfect for fans of Mhairi McFarlane and Lindsey Kelk.

I was seven years old when I realized my mother was not a great person…

Since Savvy was abandoned by her rockstar mother, she has craved a normal life. But after years of financing her boyfriend’s lacklustre career, he leaves her when he hits the bigtime.

Savvy’s friends at the burlesque club where she serves elaborate cocktails encourage her to make bold changes in her life. She soon meets handsome bartender Milo, and begins to plan a future she can be excited about.

But when Savvy’s estranged mother crashes back into her life, her newfound happiness is under threat… will Savvy have the courage to pursue her dreams?

Amazon | Goodreads | Kobo

graphic

So before I get to what I thought of Cocktails and Dreams here’s a little teaser for you…

Exclusive: Rockstar Persephone Black attacked by daughter in swanky Kensington spa!

Hold on to your hats, kiddies, because the Mother of Rock and Roll is back in her home town! Persephone Black has been in London for the last week, our sources say. She’s been holed up her usual haunts, but yesterday she was attacked by a ranting blonde girl whilst having a spa treatment in Kensington.

The most shocking thing about a young woman screaming at the rockstar (beyond the fact that it’s not over a guy?!) – it’s Persephone’s daughter, Savannah Curtis!

Savannah has been in the spotlight recently due to her messy and swift break up with long term boyfriend Rob ‘DJ Unreal’ Jones, from The Unreal Way. Savannah had refused to appear on The Unreal Way, causing much tension between the couple. It looks like it was too big a problem, because Rob is now seeing TV presenter Leah, who has appeared on the show a few times. And if Savannah is going around screaming at rockstars, maybe that’s why Rob left!

Persephone has been quiet for a while, with over two years passing since she last released an album. Perhaps all this family drama will get her creative muscles working again. After all, just because someone’s been dubbed the mother of rock and roll, doesn’t mean they’re a great mother in real life, does it?

Well after that I’m sure your itching to read the book and find out more but before you do here’s what I thought…

First off I have to say I loved Savvy. She is a wonderful character, kind and considerate and it was nice that as the book went on you got to see her come out of her shell and enjoy herself more.

I especially admired that she remained true to herself whilst doing so. I also loved that she worked in a burlesque club, it sounded like such a cool place and it was definitely the first sign that Savvy was more than what she thought of herself.

The other good thing about her working in the Burlesque bar, getting to hear about all these wonderful cocktail creations, I think there are some concoctions in this book that I might have to give a try because they sounded divine. It is a double whammy in that respect because there is an awful lot of delicious sounding food described as well, but since I’m allergic to pots, pans and utensils I think I’ll stick to the liquid delights.

I have to say I think the relationships in this book were handled really well, even though Savvy has a dysfunctional relationship with her mother, it was nice to see how lovely the relationship was between her and her aunt and her dad. Even though things with her mother haven’t been great it was refreshing that you got a few different sides to the story and it wasn’t a case of having to take sides.

This also translates well to the romantic entanglements, you get to see the difference between a relationship that isn’t working to one that is, without painting the guy to be an evil monster.I have to say though I really liked Savvy and Milo together, the fact that they worked so well and yet were very real about the fact that their dreams might take them in different directions.

Even though there is some heartbreak and romance in the book for me it didn’t feel like the central focus which I really liked. It was about Savvy finding her dreams and figuring out who she is, finding a guy that compliments her is just a bonus and I have to say I love that message!

Overall I could not recommend this book enough, if you’re looking for a book with brilliant characters, a wonderful plot, that gives you the feeling that dreams are possible, all with handsome bartenders and cheeky cocktails, then look no further!

four.5

graphic2

If you’ve made it this far then you are in luck as there is also a giveaway (UK only)!! Enter by clicking the link below to win…

Giveaway Prize

a cocktail making gift set and an ecopy of the book

There are still a few days left on the tour so be sure to tag along or if you want to look back at some of the previous stops then check out the schedule below.

SCHEDULE


A.L. Michael is hurtling towards the end of her twenties a little too quickly. She is the author of nine novels. Her most recent collection of books, The Martini Club Series, will start with Cocktails and Dreams, released 24th July 2017. She likes to write about sassy females who follow their dreams, and don’t take no for an answer.

She is a Creative Therapeutic Facilitator, currently researching the power of creative writing to be helpful in recovering from eating disorders, and believes in the power of writing to heal.

You can find out more about A.L. Michael at (surprisingly) www.almichael.com and on twitter @almichael_

logo

2 thoughts on “Blog Tour | Cocktails and Dreams #GuestPost #review #giveaway

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s