Blog Tour | The Things We Need To Say #review #giveaway

To round off the week I have a review on the blog tour for The Things We Need To Say there is also a pretty cool giveaway before that though here is what it’s about.

The Things We Need to SaySometimes the things we never say are the most important.

Fran loves Will with all her heart. They had a whirlwind romance, a perfect marriage and a wonderful life. Until everything changed. Now Fran needs to find her way again and teaching a yoga retreat in Spain offers her just that. Leaving behind a broken marriage she has some very important decisions to make.

Will needs his wife, he needs her to open up to him if they’re to ever return to the way things once were. But he may have damaged any possibility he had of mending their relationship and now Fran is in Spain and Will is alone.

As both Fran and Will begin to let go of a life that could have been, fate may just find a way of bringing them back together.

From the best-selling author of The Many Colours of Us comes an emotional story perfect for fans of Katie Marsh, Amanda Prowse and Sheila O’Flanagan.

 

Amazon | Goodreads

divider

When I read the blurb for this one before reading it I wasn’t sure I was going to be in the right frame of mind for it. I was out and about at the beach on a sunny day with an ice cream and felt like it wasn’t the right tone of book for my mood because it sounds really emotional, but I had read The Many Colours Of Us last year and really enjoyed it so I felt like I probably couldn’t go wrong.

All I can say is the beach, the ice cream and the sunshine melted away to oblivion as soon as I started this book. It is amazing. It’s really hard to sum up what I loved about it because really anything I could say would make you think that doesn’t sound good but the raw and profound honesty of this book really stuck with me.

The story unfolds in such a way that you know something traumatic has happened between Fran and Will and the further you get into the story the more you find out about exactly what that was. I mean you can definitely jump to a few conclusions but the brilliant thing that happens with this delivery is that you find yourself understanding their situation better through having to hear how they got to that point. Everything becomes so much more hard hitting because it builds up so slowly.

This is a completely fractured relationship and even though there are things that you would think badly of, with Fran and Will you find yourself realising that everything isn’t always black or white that there are perfectly acceptable grey areas. I loved both Fran and Will and I spent most of the book hoping that they would end up happy, for a book that deals with some very emotional issues there is also a very hopeful feeling and a lot of positive introspection.

The other characters in the story are also wonderful because they are very human, a good representation of how not everything is as it seems. It’s nice to be reminded that it’s ok to forgive yourself and find a way to move on from situations. I also think that having these other characters helped to keep the story hopeful, they added a reprieve when it started to get quite emotional.

Rachel Burton is a beautiful writer and easily captures your heart with the feeling and humanity that is poured into this story. She is definitely an author that I know I could pick up any of her books and enjoy it, I’m definitely looking forward to the next one.

5

divider2

Since I’m sure that this will be a book that loads of people will love you’ll be glad to hear that there is a giveaway to win…

a bound proof copy of The Things We Need to Say & a pack of Yogi teas


Rachel Burton has been making up stories since she first learned to talk. After many false starts she finally made one up that was worth writing down.
After graduating with a degree in Classics and another in English, she didn’t really know what to do when she grew up. She has worked as a waitress, a paralegal and a yoga teacher.
She has spent most of her life between Cambridge and London but now lives in Leeds with her boyfriend and three cats. The main loves of her life are The Beatles and very tall romantic heroes.
Her debut novel THE MANY COLOURS OF US was an Amazon Kindle bestseller. Her second, THE THINGS WE NEED TO SAY, is out in May 2018. She is currently working on her third book about a woman who followed the love of her life to a city in northern England. It has no autobiographical elements at all…..maybe.

Find her on Twitter & Instagram as @bookish_yogi or search Facebook for Rachel Burton Author. She is always happy to talk books, writing, music, cats and how the weather in Yorkshire is rubbish. She is mostly dreaming of her next holiday…

Website | Twitter | Instagram

Reviews for Rachel Burton books

The Many Colours Of Us

logo

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s